Benefits of Strength Training

I received a lot of helpful responses on yesterday’s posts about my fears of strength training over cardio, so I just wanted to say thank you! I really appreciate all the feedback and encouragement as I try to step out of my comfort zone.

Jessie from Jessie Loves 2 Run suggested I look up the benefits of strength training to help put my fear aside, which I think is a great idea! I’m always interested in learning more about health.

Keep in mind my expertise lies in nutrition and not exercise science, and this is simply research I have done online myself.

Benefits of Strength Training

From Every Day Health

  • Protects bone and muscle mass
  • Plays a role in disease prevention –> improves glucose control to lower the risk of diabetes
  • Increases energy levels and improves your mood
  • Can boost your metabolism by 15%

From Mayo Clinic

  • Improves balance
  • Can reduce the signs and symptoms of back pain, arthritis, heart disease, and obesity
  • Improves attention and focus

From the CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention)

  • Can reduce the signs and symptoms of depression –> provides improvements similar to anti-depressant medications
  • Improves sleep quality
  • Can slow aging

From Forbes

  • Resolves metabolic disorders
  • Increases brain usage –> keeps the brain active
  • Helps decrease visceral fat (the dangerous fat that surrounds your organs)
  • “Using one’s own body weight in exercise such as yoga and Pilates, has shown to prompt muscular remodeling almost as readily as has working with weight machines” –> Yay Blogilates!!

Did I leave anything out? What are some of your favorite benefits of strength training?

This entry was posted in Workout Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Benefits of Strength Training

  1. I’m not much of a strength training person either but I try..

Leave a Reply

