No Pain, No Gain

Gotta make this quick, I want to get some school work done before my 12:30pm class!

I woke up this morning at 8:00am to do my Blogilates workout. Today was all about legs, and boy was I feeling it! I don’t think the workout would have been so bad if I hadn’t just done glutes yesterday, but no pain, no gain right?

The workout lasted about 40 minutes, and after I made time for stretching because my legs were super tight. I’m so bad about stretching and really need to remember to do it more! I have an app called Yoga Studio ($3.99 in the Apple App Store) and it has TONS of yoga and stretching videos, from 10 minutes to 60 minutes for beginners and on. Maybe I should start using the 10 minutes flexibility video and stretching every night before bed?

Anyways, today’s workout burned about 270 calories, which was only 20 calories less than yesterday. What I hope to get out of this MOVEmber challenge isn’t beast mode abs (although no complaints if that happens 😉 ), but rather, I want to push myself out of the cardio comfort zone and prove that strength training will not make me fat. It sounds ridiculous I know, but when you’ve been riding the cardio train for years burning 400+ calories in 45 minutes and you switch to strength training, burning 270 calories, you can see where my fear comes from (maybe). As Cassey from Blogilates says, “find comfort in your discomfort and grow from there”.

IMG_5168

After my workout, I fueled up with a hot bowl of fluffy oats. I cooked my oatmeal in the last of the flax milk, and topped with the remainder of the frozen cherry berry blend, a few big spoonfuls of plain, non-fat Chobani, and a tablespoon of peanut butter.

IMG_5170

IMG_5171

Yay choats!

I’m off to get stuff done. Have a great Monday!

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to No Pain, No Gain

  1. j says:

    Why would strength training make someone fat?

    • thehealthyrd says:

      It wouldn’t, but I have an irritational fear that it would cause me to gain weight because it burns less calories than cardio does. I know it burns more calories in the long run but its just a fear I’m trying to make myself to get over

  2. j says:

    Strength training, where the muscle fibres are torn, and when they repair , that takes energy and raises your metabolism. And when you have more muscle you burn more calories at rest.
    So yes , in the long run strength training would be more effective than just cardio.

    But in order to create the muscle tears, and to build muscle, you have to load them with weight. Your last reps of an exercise have to severely fatigue , and often bring failure to the muscle being worked.
    Workouts like blogilates will likely not burn more than cardio.

  3. j says:

    I know it’s not for everyone, but I really think lifting heavy is the way to go. I actually burn more during my weights workouts than during cardio . The big moves – squat , deadlift , bench press, pull ups , etc – all raise my heart rate in such a short space of time that cardio just can’t compare to. And it is definitely more challenging than cardio.
    I don’t like to focus on looks or anything , but as someone who has tried a fair few types of workout, lifting heavy has given the absolute best changes to my body. I’m the leanest I’ve ever been , and eating more than ever.

    • thehealthyrd says:

      That’s great for you! Yeah, that’s what I’ve heard. Maybe I’ll give that a shot next year when I join a gym with a weight room I’m more comfortable in. Again, thank you for your advice 🙂

  4. Jessie says:

    I can see why you have that fear – but I promise you, you’ll be okay. Which I’m sure you know deep down inside. Have you ever looked up the benefits of strength training? Maybe it’d help put your fear aside?

Leave a Reply

