Creamy Coconut Mango Smoothie

Happy November! Just like that Halloween is gone and for many people when the clock struck midnight, the holiday season began.

christmas carols everywhere

Despite the freezing cold/ blizzard filled/ polar vortex winters of upstate New York, I love this time of year. Colorful Christmas lights, the wood stove at my house, and a cozy cup of egg nog are just some of the peaceful things I look forward to all year long.

However, I’m one of those people who needs to wait for one holiday to end before I start getting ready for the next! Also, I’m still digesting from last night’s Halloween party.

I met Danielle at Spot Coffee yesterday to discuss a potential job (I’ll post more on that when I know more!). I ordered a decaf coffee with cream and a slice of spice bread to munch on while we chatted. Their coffee was a little too bitter for my liking, but the spice bread was delicious!

IMG_5111

After we discussed business, it was time to talk party! I’m always good at remembering plans and due dates, but Danielle had forgotten our potential plans. Luckily, she was still free last night so we planned a mini party to have at her house. Just a few friends, lots of food, and lots of fun!

Cameron and I left for the party around 8:15pm, and before we left I snacked on some carrots and edamame hummus. I was still full from the spice bread, but I wanted to make sure I got in some veggies since I knew there wouldn’t be any at the party.

The party spread consisted of a large Wegmans cheese pizza, chips and salsa that Cameron and I brought, blue corn chips and store bought guac, mini Reeses’s cups (my favorite!), homemade cupcakes complete with DIY frosting spread, and a bottle of Chardonnay, some Redds Apple ale, and UV Blue Vodka. Holy moly was there a lot to eat and drink!

IMG_5113

IMG_5114

IMG_5117

IMG_5116

I ate two slices of pizza (sorry, forgot to take a picture), a couple Reese’s cups, one cupcake with orange frosting, and probably too many chips with guac and salsa. No wonder I’m still full!

I also had some Chardonnay, but kept it to two glasses since I was driving.

The Great Grumpkin also made an appearance 😉

IMG_5119 Cameron has a class today at 8:00am (yuck), so we stayed to watch Ghost Busters and chat for a while, then took off around 11:15pm.

I definitely feel that I overindulged a little too much last night, but it was fun nonetheless and I am ready to get back on track! I have a run/walk and abs workout scheduled for today, and a made a creamy coconut mango smoothie to help me start November on a healthier note.

Creamy Coconut Mango Smoothie

  • 1 frozen banana, sliced
  • 1/4 cup plain, non-fat Chobani
  • 1 tablespoon Bob’s Red Mill coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup vanilla flax milk
  • 1/2 cup Mighty Mango Naked juice

IMG_5121

I also had a slice of homemade chocolate chip banana bread that my friend Vivian made last night for the party 🙂

IMG_5122

I have a lot I want to do today (laundry, clean the apartment, study for an exam, workout), so I better get crackin’!

P.S.-I lost miserable at another round of the “workweek hustle” challenge. I blame it on my long legs and long strides 😉 Oh well!

P.P.S- A helpful article on managing Halloween sugar damage

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

