National Oatmeal Day

Happy National Oatmeal Day!

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 11.51.20 AM

Obviously, I had to celebrate 😉 . I wasn’t feeling pumpkin butter in my oats this morning, so I went with a more “traditional” route of plain non-fat Chobani, a tablespoon of organic peanut butter, and frozen blueberries.

Chobani + oats = choats

As always, a big mug of coffee!

IMG_5055

I spent the morning applying for jobs (fingers crossed!), followed by a trip to the gym. I had one hour of yoga scheduled for today, but after spending a while hunched over my computer in the dining room, I decided I wanted to get out of the house.

Today’s workout

At the gym, I did 15 minutes of the rowing machine and 15 minutes of the Stair Master. I’m so happy it’s fixed! After that, I came home to do some strength training. I really don’t like the weight room at the school gym 😳 .

Here is the strength training workout I did this morning. I don’t have a barbell, so I just used two 8lb dumbbells.

back to basics workout

My total workout (not including time driving back from the gym) was about 55 minutes and burned almost 380 calories.

IMG_5062

That’s much less than I would have burned doing cardio, but I know that the muscles I’m growing will burn more calories throughout the day!

Post workout, I made a protein shake with Aria Women’s Protein that I got at Trader Joes (price is about $10), plus vanilla flax milk.

IMG_5063

I like the Aria protein because it’s a good ratio of calories to protein for someone who isn’t a big lifter. Since I’m just starting out with weights, I wanted something with less than 150 calories per serving, and something that didn’t have 30g of protein (save the kidneys!).

IMG_5064

An update on the candy corn M&M’s…I should have heeded everyone else’s warnings. Do not buy!!

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

