Crockpot Potato Leek Soup + Workweek Hustle Challenge

Happy Saturday!

I was such a bum last night! On Thursday, I picked up a clearance pumpkin at Target ($3.99! $2 cheaper than Wegman’s 🙂 ) and had big plans to carve it/ roast the seeds on Friday (yesterday). My friends and family joke that I’m a total Grandma because I’m always too tired to do anything past 4pm, and last night I lived up to my name! Looks like I’ll have to try again tonight!

I spent my day yesterday doing homework, working out, and making crockpot soup. I think it was around 6pm when I finally closed my laptop for the night and joined Cameron to watch What to Expect When You’re Expecting. It’s one of his favorite chick flicks! Hehe

The crockpot potato leek soup recipe comes from the website Skinny Ms.

Ingredients

  • 2 large leeks, chopped (greens should be removed)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 sprigs fresh thyme
  • ½ tsp black pepper
  • 5 cups chicken (or vegetable) stock
  • 1 pound russet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 ½ tsp salt
  • ¾ tsp white pepper
  • ½ cup low-fat milk
  • 2 Tbsp snipped chives

Directions

Add all ingredients to your slow cooker and make sure potatoes are completely covered (if not, add additional water).

Cook on low for 6 hours and potatoes are fork tender.

Remove bay leaf and puree soup with an immersion blender or in the blender until smooth. Top with fresh chives and enjoy!

Yield: 6 servings | Serving Size: 1 1/2 cups | Calories: 217 | Total Fat: 3 g | Saturated Fat: 1 g | Trans Fat: 0 g | Cholesterol: 3 mg | Sodium: 158 mg | Carbohydrates: 40 g | Dietary Fiber: 5 g | Sugars: 5 g | Protein: 8 g |Previous Points: 4 | Points Plus: 5 |

Read more at http://skinnyms.com/slow-cooker-leek-and-potato-soup/#5edXwjs3g8ZB8Iir.99

I’m too poor to afford bay leaves and fresh thyme and chives, so I just threw in a few sprinkles of Mrs. Dash and a little salt. Of course, I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. Since it came in a quart and I didn’t want to buy two just for one extra cup, I used one cup of water and one tablespoon of organic unsalted butter. It turned out great, AND I have a lot of leftovers!

IMG_4944

If you’re hesitant about potato leek soup because of cutting the leeks, they are actually very easy!

You’re going to be working with mostly the white part, and a little bit of the greens.

1) Begin by cutting off the roots at the bottom and discard.

IMG_4936

2) As for leaves, cut them at the point where they start to look like the top of a pineapple. I usually like to look for a ridge as a guide. Discard the dark green leaves.

IMG_49423) Next, peel off the top layer of the leek and rinse the remaining leek under cool water.

IMG_4939

4) Cut the leek vertically (or the “hotdog” way :p ) and rinse. This is one of the best ways to ensure you’re getting rid of all the dirt!

IMG_49405) Finally, chop the leek as you would a stalk of celery.

IMG_4943

Easy as that!

Workweek Hustle

I totally lost the workweek hustle! Technically I came in 2nd place (out of 3), but my sister (who came in 3rd) forgot to wear her Fitbit a few times. For the 5 days, I ended up with 51,223 steps. That’s an average of over 10,000 steps each day. I think that’s pretty good!

Tori came in 1st with 77,160, and there was no way I could compete with that. And honestly, I didn’t want to. Busting my butt to get 16,000 steps one day and then still being 3,000 behind the next morning just wasn’t fun for me. I’m all for competition but there comes a point where I have to be realistic about what I can and can’t do.

The challenge did make me realize that it’s a lot easier to get 10,000 steps a day than I thought. Next week, I’m challenging my mom and sister, which should be more realistic for me. My mom has a 7:30am-4:00pm desk job, but that doesn’t stop her from getting more steps than her daughters! Bring it!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

