Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Sorry I didn’t post yesterday, I got caught up in schoolwork, job hunting, class, etc. etc. Don’t worry, nothing too exciting/blogworthy happened anyways!

Although, I did start off my morning with a batch of pumpkin pie oatmeal! I’m going to work backwards with my meal recap because I want to save the best for last 🙂

Evening snack

As usual, I was starving when I got home at 10:00pm from my Mindful Therapist class, so I poured a big bowl of Kashi Heart to Heart honey oats cereal with vanilla flax milk and an organic banana.

IMG_4887

Dinner

I was craving soup again last night and I like to eat light before my 7:00pm Mindful Therapist class, so I figured, “why not?”. I heated up a can of Progresso Tuscan Style White Bean soup, but when I stirred it in the pot, I realized it was pretty boring. I like thick, hearty soups with lots of veggies!

I decided to jazz it up a bit by adding some quinoa that I made on Monday, along with some frozen peas.

IMG_4885

As usual, I topped it off with heaps of cheese 🙂

IMG_4883

I also enjoyed a slice of buttered whole wheat toast (unpictured).

Snack

I was craving something sweet as my afternoon snack yesterday, so I grabbed a container of strawberry Chobani, drizzled on some honey, and topped it with Bob’s Red Mill coconut flakes.

IMG_4880 IMG_4882

Our landlady is away for 2 weeks, so she asked Cameron and I to take the dog out when her husband is at work. Each time we do, she’s knocking $10 off the November rent. Playing with a dog and getting money off rent? How could I say no!? :p

It’s been pretty rainy here lately so poor Maggie got a little muddy.

IMG_4875

Consequently, so did my legs!

What’s weird about this picture is that I took it myself, with the camera facing down at my legs, and somehow the picture got reversed to look like someone else took it…

IMG_4874

Lunch

Yesterday’s salad lunch was a big bowl of my usual ingredients, this time topped with quinoa and the last of the croutons. I wanted to finish them up so I could hurry up and try those Snapeas! (Which by the way, I tried today and they are super tasty! A much healthier alternative to croutons)

IMG_4877

I thought it kind of looks like a stuffing on top of my salad, which gave me the idea of putting quinoa in my Thanksgiving stuffing this year. I’ve got to remember that next month! 😉

Breakfast

And now for the pumpkin pie oatmeal!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup quick cooking oats

2/3 cup liquid (I used vanilla flax milk)

1 tablespoon pumpkin butter

1/4 cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt

2 tablespoons pumpkin granola (I used Hannaford pumpkin-flax)

Cinnamon to taste

Directions:

Cook oatmeal according to directions (some oatmeals take longer than others!). Stir in pumpkin butter and Greek yogurt until everything is mixed. Top with pumpkin granola and cinnamon. Enjoy!

IMG_4866

IMG_4867

I’m off to make dinner and watch Sex and the City and The Biggest Loser!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

