Blueberry Omega-3 Power Smoothie

My workweek is off to a super healthy start!

I wanted to switch it up for breakfast today so I broke out the blender for the first time since July and made myself a “blueberry omega-3 power smoothie”.

IMG_4836

In the blender, I combined:

  • 1 frozen banana, sliced
  • 1/2 cup plain non-fat Chobani
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup vanilla flaxseed milk
  • 1 tablespoon ground flaxseed
  • 1 tablespoon Bob’s Red Mill coconut flakes
  • Squirt of honey

Since I just bought the flaxseed milk for the first time yesterday, I had to give it a try before I blended it up in the smoothie. It was delicious! It tasted a little like very vanilla soymilk. Next I have to try it in oatmeal 😉

I love using frozen bananas in smoothies because it makes them super thick! I find that when I use regular room-temperature bananas, the smoothie is much more watery and I can finish it off in about 5 minutes.

This one was so thick I had to eat it with a spoon!

IMG_4839

Breakfast isn’t the only way I’m starting off my week on a healthy note. I’m also participating in a “workweek hustle” FitBit challenge with my sister and friend from college!

“Workweek Hustle is a challenge to see who can get the most steps between Monday and Friday. It runs from 12:00am Monday to 11:59pm Friday in the timezone of the person who created the challenge.”

I plan on parking farther away at school and walking around the house more rather than sitting. This morning instead of immediately sitting down to the computer to read blogs, I used my phone and paced around the apartment. I am so determined to win. Bring it on! 🙂

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blueberry Omega-3 Power Smoothie

  1. This looks perfect – I always make min super-thick too!

Leave a Reply

