Interesting Grocery Finds

Cameron is finally back and I am so happy! And not just because I’ll be able to sleep tonight 😉

I spent some time this morning studying for a quiz I have tomorrow, followed by alternating between napping and reading Full Catastrophe Living: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Face Stress, Pain, and Illness until Cameron got home around 2:00pm.

After that, I fixed myself some lunch. Nothing exciting, just a salad again. In my defense, we hadn’t been grocery shopping in a week and I was running out of food :p

IMG_4821

Since I hadn’t gone further than the living room all day, I figured that after lunch I should hit the gym. My FitBit is also a really great motivator; seeing that I had gotten less than 500 steps by 2:00pm, when it’s recommended to get 10,000 a day, I knew it was time to get moving. Since I had just finished eating, I decided to keep it light by working out on the elliptical.

This time, I did the Yosemite Hike course for 30 minutes. I kept the level between a 12 and a 14 and burned about 400 calories.

IMG_4822

Cameron and I went grocery shopping when I got back from the gym and picked up a lot! We bought:

  • Bananas
  • Apples
  • Avocados
  • Green leaf lettuce
  • Tomatoes
  • Whole wheat bread
  • Garbanzo beans
  • Chobani
  • Mac and cheese
  • Frozen pretzels
  • Organic peanut butter
  • Sugar
  • Progresso soup
  • Popcorn

Along with some interesting finds!

Flax milk

IMG_4828

 Snapea Crisps

Which I plan to substitute for croutons this week

IMG_4832.JPG

And edamame hummus!

IMG_4833.JPGTonight’s dinner was also an interesting grocery find. 

A Kashi Greek Tzatziki pizza! It was a little heavy on the artichoke, but the creamy tzatziki flavor made up for it. I enjoyed the pizza with a glass of unsweetened vanilla almond milk that I tried to sweeten up with organic vanilla extract, which I do not recommend! It did not taste good.

IMG_4830.JPG

I also finished off the Mrs. Thinster cookie thins with my milk.

Time to spend the rest of the evening vegging out. New episode of The Walking Dead tonight!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Grocery Haul and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interesting Grocery Finds

  1. I remember seeing flax milk in Whole Foods in London & was very curious- how would you compare it to almond milk in terms of taste and creaminess? Well done on the spontaneous workout :)!

    • thehealthyrd says:

      Thank you! I would say it’s less creamy than almond milk, but definitely sweeter. I think it’s more similar to Very Vanilla soy milk, if you’ve ever had that. I’d say it’s worth a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

