Healthy “Blueberry Cheesecake” Stuffed French Toast

Good morning and happy Sunday! I have an easy, delicious, and healthy recipe to share!

But first, last night in a nutshell.

It started with a glass of wine…

IMG_4796

Followed by cutting myself while chopping an onion…

IMG_4799

But I kept going because I wanted to jazz up my dinner!

IMG_4802

Obviously dessert was needed…

IMG_4803

And of course a snack with extra wine…

IMG_4806

Then bed at 11:00pm, followed by waking up at 4:00am with the completely rational fear that because I’m home alone, there is a murderer in the closet. Time to remember every horror movie and story I’ve ever seen/heard.

Go out to the living room at 4:00am to turn on the TV because obviously the closet murderer can’t get me unless I’m in the bedroom.

IMG_4810

Go back to bed at 5:00am and wake up at 8:00am, wondering what year it is.

IMG_4811

Realize it’s Sunday, shuffle out to the kitchen to make coffee and…

Healthy “Blueberry Cheesecake” Stuffed French Toast

Ingredients

  • Two slices of whole wheat bread
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 2 tablespoons cream cheese (I used Wegman’s honey nut)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Cinnamon to taste

Directions

In a skillet or small frying pan, melt one tablespoon of butter over medium heat. In a small plate or shallow bowl, beat one egg and mix in vanilla almond milk, vanilla extract, and cinnamon. Defrost blueberries in a separate small bowl for 1 minute.

Dip one side of each slice of bread into the egg mix. On the opposite side of each slice of bread, spread 1 tablespoon of cream cheese and half of the blueberries. Place the two “stuffed” sides of the bread together to make a sandwich. Cook the sandwich in the skillet or frying pan until gold brown, about 3 minutes per side.

IMG_4817

IMG_4818Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Healthy “Blueberry Cheesecake” Stuffed French Toast

  1. Kay says:

    Hahaha, when I was home alone I tried to follow a no CSI, Criminal Minds, or Law and Order rule. I always failed at it, and ended up certain in the middle of the night, someone was going to kidnap/kill me.

    Your french toast looks delicious! Happy Sunday!

  2. trialsinfood says:

    Sounds like an eventful night. I’m sure breakfast made it all better! Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

