Caffeine Crazy

I don’t know if it’s the rain, lack of sleep, or the fact that it’s Friday, but I cannot put down the coffee today! I usually have 1-2 cups each morning, and most of the time I’ll still have some left over in the second cup. I had 3 cups today, and I’m somewhere between a caffeine buzz and a caffeine crash. I think I need a nap!

The seminar I attended this morning was called, “Using Behavior Economic Theory to Reduce Obesity Among At Risk Children”. It was a great presentation, talking about focusing on choice behavior and how we allocate our resources, meaning we have unlimited choices throughout the day, and how those choices affect our health. The presentation was broken into three parts from the social-ecological model; individual, environmental, and community. Something that was really interesting from the individual aspect was increasing physical activity in adults by putting the treadmill in front of the TV, and putting the couch in another room. This would encourage more use of the treadmill, because the TV would be a reinforcer and less use of the couch because the reinforcement from the TV wouldn’t be there. I thought that was a really good idea!

I was starving when I got home, so I threw together a quick salad with my usual ingredients:

  • Green leaf lettuce
  • Tomato
  • 1/4 avocado
  • Garbanzo beans
  • Asiago cheese
  • Whole wheat croutons
  • Italian dressing

I was on the last few drops of my Italian dressing and was too lazy to make more (the struggle is real today), so it was a mostly dry salad.

IMG_4760

I also munched on some Kashi sea salt pita chips and a tablespoon of garlic hummus.

IMG_4761

Amazingly, I managed to eat lunch without dessert. Guess I’ll have to make up for that later tonight 😉

Off to another seminar soon, hope I don’t fall asleep during it!

This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caffeine Crazy

  1. I would definitely be more motivated to work out at home if I had a treadmill in front of my TV!

Leave a Reply

