First Early Run + Leg Workout for Beginners

I woke up bright and early today to go on my first morning run in a LONG time. I have no problem getting up early and going to the gym because I can pedal away on the elliptical while I’m still half asleep, but running definitely takes more work.

I laid out everything last night (clothes, heart rate monitor, pre-run banana, water) so I wouldn’t have to worry about it this morning. All I had to do was get my butt out of bed at 7:30am and hit the road!

IMG_4690

It’s supposed to be beautiful out today; sunny and 80 degrees!! I thought about ditching my run last minute and heading to the gym, but I checked the weather channel and saw it was almost 70 degrees. Duh! Of course I had to take advantage of what is probably the last warm day of the season.

IMG_4693I would have also missed the beautiful sunrise!

I ran through the same neighborhood as last time. I did more walking than running, but I pushed myself when I did run and I enjoyed myself. That’s what counts!

IMG_4695

I also stopped more to take pictures.

IMG_4698

IMG_4697

In total, my run/walk was about 40 minutes and 3.29 miles, according to Map My Run.

I have my workouts scheduled on the right side of the page (under recent posts), and along with my run I also had a leg workout planned for today, which I did right in the park.

IMG_4699

Leg Workout for Beginners (modified from a Popsugar Fitness legs and butt workout)

  • 20 squats
  • 30 lunges (15 forward lunges, each leg)
  • 40 calf raises
  • 30 second wall sit
  • 10 squats

According to my heart rate monitor (Polar Ft4), my entire workout burned 526 calories! Killer! I was starving when I got back home but I really needed to stretch first, so I used my Yoga Studio app and did the 10 minutes stretching for runners video.

For breakfast, I scrambled up two eggs in butter and sandwich them in an English muffin with Smart Balance and cheese. I used to be all about fried/runny eggs, but currently scrambled is my new favorite!

IMG_4703

IMG_4704

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Early Run + Leg Workout for Beginners

  1. Pingback: Maybe the Scale Really Doesn’t Matter | TheHealthyRd

  2. Pingback: Weekly Workout Schedule: 10/26-11/1 | TheHealthyRd

Leave a Reply

